Monica3800’s Weblog

This blog is tracking my Library 2.0 journey.

My first VC experience

The first virtual community that I joined in 1996 was a listserv for people who suffer from celiac disease.  After a long and scary ordeal, my sister was diagnosed with the disease in 1995. Celiacs get incredibly ill when they eat gluten. Gluten, proteins in wheat, is in lots and lots of things.  Today there are boatloads of information on how to cope with celiac disease. In 1996, it wasn’t quite so easy.

I subscribed to the list on a whim, thinking I’d pass some info onto her as needed.  Reading the posts everyday from people who were really struggling to keep up with the ever changing status of an endless variety of foods really made me realize how hard this must be to live with.  I ended up printing and organizing all of the posts into a binder for her reference.

Besides the fact that it was clear I needed to go to library school to find an outlet for my skills as an organizer, I learned a lot. I got insight into a disease that is very prevalent and often misunderstood. These people were engaged in grassroots activism and it worked. The Celiac Disease Foundation , who sponsored the listserv, is now the preeminent source of information for the disease. Stricter standards for food labeling have been enacted to alert celiacs of the presence of wheat. The U of Chicago even has a celiac disease center.

1 Comment»

  www.topbloodpressureadvice.info » My first VC experience wrote @

[…] monica3800 added an interesting post today on My first VC experience.Here’s a small reading:The first virtual community that I joined in 1996 was a listserv for people who suffer from celiac disease. After a long and scary ordeal, my sister was diagnosed with the disease in 1995. Celiacs get incredibly ill when they eat gluten … […]


Leave a Reply

