Monica3800’s Weblog

This blog is tracking my Library 2.0 journey.

Intro

Greetings! I’m Monica. I live on the northside of Chicago and work at a non profit membership association. I train volunteers for committee and board work.

I hope to work in an academic library as soon as I finish the program. I think it’s really important to embrace L2 concepts to serve all library patrons. There are so many resources that we can use to help our users maximize both their library experience and online resources. More than just the online componet, I think it’s critical to place the patron at the center of our service models regardless of their preferred medium. I believe that by cooperating with one another and keeping our minds open, librarians can open up a new world for many of our users.

Pie in the sky? Perhaps, but I like the idea of the truly cooperative, collaborative environment, so I’m sticking to it.

I hope to be able to take what I learn from this class and use it in a library. It sounds like in some places that may be a challenge in and of itself.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

